Our Classes

Class Organisation 

The children are currently organised in three classes.  We try to keep the classes fairly evenly balanced regarding size.  With a wide age range and mixed ability in each class, much of the teaching is on an individual or small group basis.  The children will all experience working alone, in pairs, in year groups, in ability groups, in friendship groups, in classes and as a school.

The school is organised in to three classes as follows: 

Class 1 - Y4, Y5, Y6 - Mrs Tara Reynolds-Hart / Mrs Helen Ward

Class 2 - Y3, Y4 - Currently Miss Charlotte Diffey

Class 3 - R, Y1, Y2 - Mrs Julie Blackburn / Mrs Claire Humber

The children are taken on educational visits out of school.  We also like to provide an opportunity for each class to stay or camp away from home for a few days in the Spring/Summer Term. We work closely with other small schools.  The schools involved are: 

St Teath Primary School
St Breward Primary School
Camelford Primary School and
Sir James Smith’s Community School

Your Child’s Learning 

Experience, Enjoy and Excel

The broad and balanced curriculum will stimulate your child to acquire knowledge and develop individual skills.

Children’s achievements are celebrated and everyone enjoys success and praise regularly during their time in school.  We encourage children to become independent and confident in both their work and social development.

The children are taught by their own class teacher in mixed age classes.  The staffing complement for each class is a fully qualified teacher and at least one trained teaching assistant. 

The class teacher will get to know your child very well and will be pleased to involve you in their life at school.  Children make progress at their own rates and in their own ways.  It is important to value them as individuals and to provide learning opportunities that will build on their strengths and overcome their weaknesses. 

The Curriculum

The National Curriculum includes the three core subjects; English, Maths and Science and six foundation subjects History, Geography, Technology, Music, IT, Art and Physical Education plus Religious Education.  PSHE (Personal, Social, Health Education) and Modern Foreign Languages play a crucial additional role in our curriculum. 

Children’s educational attainment is assessed by teachers and by national Standard Attainment Tasks at the end of each Key Stage.  Key Stage 1 ends at seven years and Key Stage 2 at eleven years.

Our Reception children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Guidance.  This contains the Early Learning Goals, which are learning targets set by the government to prepare the children for when they start the National Curriculum in Year 1.  Both Key Stage 1 and 2 deliver the National Curriculum. 

We aim to provide a rich, broad and balanced curriculum based on vocabulary rich texts (The Power of Reading) to satisfy the needs of each child and to develop their full potential.  Our policy is that all children work and progress at their own level and the work planned by the teachers takes account of these needs.

As a school, we use a range of schemes, written by experts, to deliver the National Curriculum.  Details of what is taught can be found on the school website under curriculum.

 Parents receive a written report on all National Curriculum subjects at the end of each academic year together with Standard Attainment Tasks (SAT’s) results at the end of each Key Stage.  There will be formal opportunities for you to discuss your child’s progress each year and parents are welcome to speak to a teacher at any convenient time.